In the Cosmere/Stormlight RPG (soon to be OGLed under the name Plotweaver), can you Strike with a one-handed weapon using your primary hand, then move the weapon to the other hand to make an offhand second Strike?
1 Answer
Probably not.
The rules argument for this is a little hand-wavy.
I was unable to find any rule governing moving an item or weapon from one hand to another. It seems like Interact, which costs one action, is the closest. So, by one reading, Strike with one action, interact to change the weapon's hands, and strike using a different hand (spending the extra focus) is one way to read the technical word of the rules that allows this to work.
But, if that was the intent, I suspect they would have simplified it. Instead of writing "each attack must use a different hand" and adding a focus cost to attacking with your offhand, they would have written something that simply allows a second Strike that costs two actions and two focus, instead of hiding this ability in a close, technical reading of the action rules.
So, what happens when we take this legalistic reading to the rest of the rules around hands, weapons, and strikes? The section of the rules that deals with offhand weapons (p244) Indicates you actually only have a main and offhand "while wielding more than one weapon" So, when you make your second strike this way, the weapon isn't in your offhand, and then, it doesn't even cost the extra two focus, because the extra focus cost comes from "If you attack using your offhand..."
So, now you've found a way to spend three actions to get two strikes without extra focus expenditure AND without the cost of a second weapon.
Obviously, this is silly.
In short, I do not believe that was the intent. At no point during writing the Stormlight Archives did Sanderson write Kaladin carefully switching the hand his spear was in in order to get a second attack out faster. Ask your DM - they explicitly have final say over "uncertainty or disagreement about how to apply the rules of the game" (P11), but I certainly would not allow it.
If you really need a second attack, just buy a knife (which has the "Offhand" trait, letting you make the attack with one focus instead of two) or strike unarmed (same "offhand" trait, as well). Use your other action to "Gain Advantage" or on one of your Path abilities.
-
\$\begingroup\$ Very well researched and argued. I missed the phrase you mentioned from p244 - that was key. \$\endgroup\$odigity– odigity2025-10-13 18:19:06 +00:00Commented 6 hours ago
-
\$\begingroup\$ Here's the companion question, if you're interested: rpg.stackexchange.com/questions/216804/… \$\endgroup\$odigity– odigity2025-10-13 18:23:42 +00:00Commented 6 hours ago